R360 Reviews. Who has it?

Hey everyone,

I am ordering a r360 and would love to hear anyone’s thoughts on their experience with it! After searching the discussion groups, I am not seeing anything except for the release of the r360. If you previously had the r2a, please feel free to compare, give honest reviews on the pros / cons of the data. I plan on doing forestry mgmt, dense vegetation, SLAM, street tree documentation, building footprints, land development, and coastal erosion research. Looking forward to hearing what you all think!

I know you’ve probably seen this but it really is a good comparison between the two. Hopefully some users chime in too! We love seeing all the R360 and R2A datasets!

Thanks, Daniel. Yes, I’ve seen it and the results look great. Hoping to hear some user feedback in the group, if not, I will chime in once I receive mine!

Hello there Rogue, I have been using the R 360 for a few months now, and am thoroughly impressed. I mostly use it from the drone, but I have also used it on a handful of projects mounted to the truck. The data from the 360 is super crispy, especially when truck mounted:
https://cloud.rockrobotic.com/share/6f001c26-1f36-46fe-9ca3-42793b97755f?view=lidar&position=588879.149354827%2C1422281.3378699026%2C97.39464561360384&target=588882.5987627407%2C1422293.1912531496%2C95.14580298410043

The only downsides are 1. it diminishes flight time by a few minutes, because it heavier than the R2A, and 2. the point density is slightly less, which only means I fly slightly slower over dense vegetation in order to get better penetration. I have both units, but the R 360 is now my go-to.