Questions about mission planning

I’m attaching the .kml for the operation we’re doing in the next few days. Any advice would be appreciated.

We have 3 sets of m300 batteries.

DJI Pilot says this operation will take 2h 30min at 60m

• Should we break it into 2 pieces (North, South)?
  • Do we keep the base station at the same location for the entire operation?
  • Do the 2 sections need to have a lot of overlap in order to stitch together later?
  • Any tips on control point distribution? We likely won’t be able to get back in the trees very well. We can place a few along the road on the west side.
  • I have never done terrain follow in the m300 before. If we can’t get good rtk up there, what is my best option? (I’ve got the mission planned with a DEM right now but if it doesn’t work…)

Thanks in advance…

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Cfg3T3MsXQj1aiwhfi4pLA7zmoMEqXaq/view?usp=sharing

Do you have means of charging your M300 batteries in the field? If possible it would be most ideal to run base in a central location for the entire time from while you complete the entire survey. As long as it is within the acceptable range it should work great!

If you haven’t used DEMs with DJI Pilot it would behoove you to test it before tackling a mission of this size, as there is a bit of a learning curve and you clearly want to maximize your battery as you’ve got a 7 mile area to fly.

A few notes on your proposed mission:

You want to be sure to have a high point if possible to fly the entire area from one spot.

The complexity of this mission would probably be better handled using UgCS instead of DJI Pilot, however that will introduce a large learning curve and definitely the need for some testing. It is also worth noting that you will need a laptop running the UgCS Client as well as a hotspot for the laptop and the smart controller to be connected to for the duration of mission.

1 Like

Wow that’s a long collection. :slight_smile: