Capturing data during leaf-off conditions

Hi Rock Robotic Community, I am new to the Rock Robotic ecosystem and this is my first post. Any assistance is appreciated.
My company will be surveying an area of New Hampshire in mid to late-October. Since the leaves will already be turning and will be dry, how will this impact the results of a LiDAR scan? The area is heavily wooded and mountainous. Our primary concern is the foliage since this survey is for microwave communications, however we don’t have the ability to wait until next Summer. Instead, we plan to assume an additional 1.5 meters in height to account for the foliage. Does anyone have experience with scanning trees without leaves or as the leaves are changing (photoperiodism for you science-types)? We are using the R2A attached to an Easy Aerial Osprey.
Thanks,
Jake

1 Like

What the sun light can see, so too does the lidar.

Dry leaves will still block sunlight, so your scan will show trees with leaves.

Scanning without leaves will make nice model.

Fly slow and tight overlap.

You just want the tops of the trees?

I was also thinking about this… with the rock desktop software in the field, you can fly several test patterns and quickly visualize them in the field. This will give you an ability to calibrate your tools to produce the desired survey product and achieve the goals of the data.

Good luck!

1 Like