A Little Help Here (Flight LiDAR data processing)

Forgive me for being a Newbie here, but I just dropped a ton of money (to me) to purchase the M350, SLAM, R3 Pro, and 3 Rock Base units. Unfortunately, I wasn’t even aware that Rock Robotics sold the Reach RS3, and that I even needed one (GPS base) so I didn’t purchase one.

I’ve figured out the SLAM data processing side, I just can’t figure out the drone side of things. I was under the assumption that the Base unit can function as a static site base receiver, but I already know that was a bad assumption.

That said, I don’t personally have a GPS Base/Rover unit, however I have access to 2 surveyors who have some. One has a StoneX900 and the other is a Carlson BRX7 GPS unit. I know that the Rock Desktop wants the RINEX data, but both GPS units I have access to don’t create RINEX files. They produce files like .crd (coordinate file), .JAT, .NOT, .REF, & .RW5 (TDS Raw Data file). These files are from a Carlson BRX7 GPS unit.

I’ve been told, and Harrison says in his video(s) to use the RINEX file when you dump your files to the Desktop software. Would that be the same as my .RW5 file, the raw data file? Or do I need to convert them to the RINEX format?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

For some reason I thought you could get PPK data from the rock base, if that is not the case I highly recommended giving Joe and Patrick at E38 survey solutions a call and getting a RS2+ or RS3 on the way.

I know its another chunk of change more than you would have wanted to spend but will make your life a lot easier. Emlid has a lot of really great features such as emlid caster which is free and can simultaneously transmit RTK over NTRIP and log PPK (RINEX) from one unit, and utilize your rover in a myriad of configurations for check shots and GCPs.

How to setup RTK on M350 - 4 Different Scenarios